Posted on

Coffee – Cake and Crime Event With RR Gall

image

An ordinary man. A far from ordinary detective. A topical thriller.

The Case of the Pig in the Evening Suit is the first book in a trilogy of murder mystery thrillers.

In the Scottish town of Dumfries, people come to Jin Johnstone with their problems – but this can lead to problems of his own.

A missing son, a beautiful, enigmatic woman, a pig in an evening suit: it is the swift start to a deadly turn of events.

image

Jin Johnstone is not a policeman, not an ex-policeman, not an ex-marine, judo expert, in fact not really a private detective either. He is just an ordinary guy who wants to help other people with their problems.

The best friend of Charlie Menzies is dead. Soon there is another death and the naked body is wrapped in a kilt.

image

In the Scottish town of Dumfries, Jin Johnstone helps people with their problems. Now he has a problem of his own – someone wants him out of the way. And nowhere is safe

image

All three stories together (unabridged).

1. How did you get started writing

In some ways I started writing stories without really knowing it. I used to pen lyrics for songs then, after a while,realised they tended to be more like mini tales. So I took it on from there.

2. What drew you to crime fiction

Crime fiction gives me a corpse to dress.

3. Which crime writers past or present have influenced your style of writing

Actually, I’m not sure what my style is just yet. The Dumfries detective was in one form and the one I’m writing now seems to me to be different – although an outsider will probably see similarities.

4. You put up the Dumfries Detective Trilogy onto kindle first, have you found that this method has attracted more people into reading your novels

I daresay it’s a common tale – talks with a publisher fell through and my agent suggested I publish them myself.

5. The character of Jinty Johnstone is quite a unique one in a Crime novel as he does bot work for the police and he does not see himself as a PI, can you tell us a bit more about him and your inspiration for the character

The inspiration for Jin Johnstone was through watching Hitchcock films – the ones where an innocent is dragged into a different and dangerous world and is completely out of their depth, fighting for survival. And I wanted a person who could grow into the ‘job’, a novice, and not someone who was ready-formed.

6. The titles of the book in the Dumfries Detective Series have very unique names, can you tell us a bit more about them

I wanted the titles to show there was some fun to be had in the books and that they shouldn’t be taken too seriously. The Pig in the Evening Suit did exist. There once was a verydapper but very dead pig found in a sewer in Sydney. I sawthe photo of it –and that’s how the trilogy started.

7. Why did you decide to set your books in Dumfries

I live in Dumfries and went with the adage: write about what you know. The story I finished last year was set in Palestine – although I’ve never been. So it’ll be interesting to see how that one is viewed.

8. A couple of months ago the first book in the trilogy was free on Kindle, do you feel that you  has brought a new bunch of readers to your novels

Yes, it was free for 5 days. It had a very large number of downloads during that time. And, for some reason, it just kept on going for the next couple of weeks. I’m not sure how orwhy that happens. It has slowed a bit since then, sadly. ButI’m hopeful those happy days might return.

9. What kind of research did you have to undertake for your book

Not much research. I walked round Dumfries a few times and drank a lot of beer in The Bruce.

10. Are the characters in your books based on any real life

The characters do not come from any one person –they are a mishmash of people met over the years.

11. Since you have started writing crime novels have any known authors given you any advice

The only person to give advice, so far, was my agent. I took it.

12. Do you see any of your characters personality in yourself and vice versa

No, I don’t see much of myself in the characters –they seem too happy, brave, lucky, content, friendly, funny, etc.etc., to be me. But I did give them some of my views on litter,beer, women…

13. What do you see for the future of Jinty Johnstone in your books

The trilogy was supposed to be just the start of Jin’s story so there could be more to come. Right now I’m busy writing a crime story set in Glasgow.

14. Which of  the three books in the trilogy was the easiest to write, which one was the hardest and what one is your favourite

None of them were easy but The Case of the Hermit’s Guest Bedroom seemed to flow quicker onto the page as there were plenty of secrets to be divulged, as well as a case to be solved.

15. As a blossoming crime writer do you have words of advice you can share

Not sure I’m in a position to give advice as yet but, if pushed, I would say set a managable target of words per day, maybe 500 or 1000, and then keep to it every day.

image

http://www.rrgall.com/

Amazon Author Page

http://www.amazon.co.uk/RR-Gall/e/B00BLNP5IW

Leave a Reply

