Posted on

Book Review – life for a Life – T.F. Muir Or Frank Muir

image

***** 5 STARS

Will DCI Andy Gilchrist end up like the others – dead, beheaded on a beach?

The middle of winter in St Andrews. When a young woman’s half-naked body is found on Fife’s Coastal Path, frozen and with remnants of a rope manacle around her wrist, DCI Andy Gilchrist is given the case. Gilchrist’s investigation uncovers a bloody trail of shootings and executions that lead him to the heart of a trafficking war. Links to Scotland’s foremost criminal family, the Home Office and a killer intent on expanding his territory, pull Gilchrist deeper into this murderous web until he comes face to face with the most dangerous man he has ever met.

I must admit I am like a kid at Christmas time when it comes to the new release of Frank Muir DCI Andy Gilchrist Series Novel, in that I am giddy, excitable and it is the only thing I can talk about . So the new novel number Four in the series Life for a Life does not disappoint and by the end page I was really considering going back to the beginning and reading the novel again it was that good.  Now some of you who know me will maybe think I am being a bit biased being that I am a born and bred Fifer and maybe yes that is part of the reason I love these books but anything that puts St. Andrews and Fife on the Scottish Crime Writing Map along with Aberdeen, Dundee, Edinburgh and Glasgow has my vote straight away.

Life for a Life also introduces us to a new character in the shape of DS Jessie Janes who arrives from Strathcylde Police Force,  the usual suspects are all here as well except for Andy kids Maureen and Jack who don’t feature so strongly as they have before. As where books 1 – 3 gave us an insight Andy Gilchrist, this book focuses in giving us and insight into DS Jessie Jane’s her background her family. I won’t spoil the novel but I will let you know that we say a sad goodbye to two of the characters in the novel and Andy manages as usual to get himself into a sticky situation. So it is just left for me to say hurry up Frank Muir and get the next DCI Andy Gilchrist novel on the shelves please.

Paperback: 400 pages
Publisher: C & R Crime (5 Sep 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1780337795
ISBN-13: 978-1780337791
Product Dimensions: 19.6 x 13 x 2.8 cm

One response to “Book Review – life for a Life – T.F. Muir Or Frank Muir

  1. Great review – I’ve not tried any of these… my poor TBR pile 😉

Leave a Reply

