Posted on

Book review – Saints of the shadow Bible – Ian Rankin


***** 5 STARS

When a young woman is found unconscious at the wheel of her car, evidence at the scene suggests this was no ordinary crash. Especially when it turns out her boyfriend is the son of the Scottish Justice Minister and neither of them is willing to talk to the police. Meanwhile, John Rebus is back on the force, albeit with a big demotion and an even larger chip on his shoulder. A new law has been passed allowing the Scottish police to re-prosecute old crimes and a thirty-year-old case is being reopened, with Rebus and his team from back then suspected of corruption and worse. Known as ‘the Saints’, his colleagues swore a bond of mutual loyalty on something called ‘the Shadow Bible’. But with Malcolm Fox as the investigating officer – and determined to use Rebus for his own ends – the crimes of the past may not stay hidden much longer. With political turmoil threatening to envelop Scotland, who really are the saints and who the sinners? And can the one ever become the other?

After reading Standing in Another Mans Grave last year I was really happy to see the return of John Rebus and Siobhan Clark and every Rankin fan got their wish in that he brought in his new creation Malcolm Fox and his Complaints Team into the mix as well. After reading that book we all knew that it would have a love or hate relationship with the die hard fans, some would be on Team Rebus and others would be on Team Fox, so it is nice to see in the new Rebus novel Number 19 Saints of the Shadow Bible that the two old foes can be brought together in a way that satisfies everyone who loves and enjoys Ian Rankins novels,This book fully deserves the five star rating that it has been given and if I could have given it a higher mark I would have, it has all the classic markings of a great Ian Rankin novel in that it has the great character relationship, the brilliant storyline that keeps you guessing up to the final pages, takes you on a rollercoaster ride of ups and downs and has you up all day and night waiting to find out what happens.

I hope now that 2014 will give us a new Clark, Fox and Rebus Novel number 20 as the way in which Ian Rankin has incorporated the New POLICE SCOTLAND and has managed to introduce us to new characters and make others fit into the fold, and shown us why he is considered by many to be the face of Scottish Tartan Noir. I for one have a lot to thank Ian Rankin for us he was the author who introduced be to the exciting world of Modern Day Scottish/ British Crime Fiction and for that I will be entirely thankful, as he opened up by eyes to a bunch of great Crime Author’s who I have had the pleasure of having over on this blog and who in turn have made me pround to be Scottish and have made others look at Scottish literature in a completely different light and brought it to the attention of thousands of people world wide.

Paperback: 352 pages
Publisher: Orion (5 Jun 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1409128849
ISBN-13: 978-1409128847


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s