Posted on

APRIL CRIME QUESTION BRITISH CRIME AUTHOR interview SPECIAL WITH CASEY KELLEHER

image

CASEY KELLEHER

image

Casey Kelleher was born in Cuckfield, West Sussex. Growing up she became an avid reader, loving in particular gritty crime thrillers and gangland books. Her favourite authors Martina Cole, Mandasue Heller and Kimberley Chambers have heavily influenced her writing style. Casey is represented by the Andrew Lownie Literary Agency.
In September 2011and Casey’s first book ‘Rotten to the Core’ was published. Reaching number 15 in the Amazon Crime thriller chart, and remaining in the top 100 crime thriller chart for over 14 months. Her second novel ‘Rise and Fall’ was published in September 2012 while her third novel Heartless was published in August 2013.

1. How did you get started writing?

I’ve always been a bookworm but it was actually my granddad who inspired me. In his nineties, he bought himself a laptop with the intentions of teaching himself how to use it, and also to write his life story. Sadly, he never got to finish his story and after his passing I decided that instead of just secretly wondering if it was possible for me to write a novel, I was just going to go for it. It was now or never. A year later, in 2011 I had completed my first novel, my debut ‘Rotten to the Core’.

2. What drew you to write a crime novel

I have always loved reading crime novels. The grittier the better. For me its true escapism into a darker, more sinister world. So it just made sense to write in the genre that I love the most.

3. Which writers past or present have influenced your style of writing?

Martina Cole. As the ‘Queen of Crime’ she set the bar high in the genre. I grew up reading all her books and love her style of writing. She just says it how it is.

4. When you first started writing did you find it hard to get publisher interest?

My three previous books were self-published and while they have been very well received by readers, and I have loved being a self-published author, it would be amazing to get a traditional publishing deal. So I’m keeping my fingers crossed that maybe book 4 will do just that.

5. There are many interesting characters in your Novels, do you have a particular favourite one?

I think it would have to be Nessa O’Hagan from Heartless. She is a strong, Irish woman with a wicked sense of humour and full of love for her granddaughter Sophia. Nessa was a key character throughout the story, but she also added not only compassion, but some comedy value too. Which is nice to throw in to the mix when you’re writing story-lines that are about the darker, more murkier side of life.

6. What kind of research have you have to undertake for your Novels?

While the books are all fictional, you still need to be accurate with locations, timings and factual information. So research can be an essential part of writing. And with the magical powers of google, it’s great that all the information we need is now at our fingertips.

7. Are the characters in your books based on any real life?

All of the characters are fictional. Maybe somewhere in each of them are traits of people that I have come across, but the characters are all just themselves. Once you get an idea about a character and you start writing, they seem to develop a life of their own very quickly.

8. Since you have started writing have any well known authors given you any advice?

I was very fortunate to have some amazing advice from a lot of established authors including the late Josephine Hart. Josephine was one of the first people to read my manuscript of ‘Rotten to the Core’, and the feedback she gave me was not only fantastic, but she also passed my novel on to her agent to have a look at too. Which was a huge confidence booster at a time when I most needed it. Her most valuable advice was in fact about the publishing industry itself, and how it had changed so much due to ebook sales. And it was after I had spoken to her that I looked into self-publishing.

9. Do you see any of your characters personality in yourself and vice versa?

Oh I’m sure there is some of my personality in there somewhere, though never intentionally.

10. If you can, would you give us a sneaky peak into any future novels you have planned.

Well, it’s still a work in progress, but here is an EXCLUSIVE sneaky peek of book four…

Harry Wood’s is a born fighter. Inside the ring he was a world class boxer. Now retired, he has reached the top of his game as an up and coming criminal face. Harry has it all. The big house, the flash cars and an abundance of wealth. But life hasn’t always been so kind. His wife’s sudden death taught him just how cruel the world could be. And as much as money talked in his world, Harry knows deep down that the only thing that really counts is family. And he’ll do anything to protect his children… But sometimes the ones that you need protecting from are closer to you than you think. Without loyalty, family are bound together only by blood.

11. Out of all the Novels you have written do you have a favourite one that stands out to you?

I think it’s got to be the one that i’m writing at the moment. The storyline and characters are so strong, and I’m so caught up in at all. I’ve got a really good feeling about this one.

12. As a well known crime writer do you have words of advice you can share

Since I first published my books so many people have said how they would love to write, but they wouldn’t know where to begin. My advice to them is always, “Just write!” Make a start. Write anything. And keep writing whenever you can, as much as you can. Persevere and it will all come together.

Rotten to the Core
Rise and Fall
Heartless

http://www.caseykelleher.co.uk

http://www.facebook.com/officialcaseykelleher

http://caseykelleher.wordpress.com

Twitter: @caseykelleher

Amazon Author Page

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Casey-Kelleher/e/B005LQUOOA

One response to “APRIL CRIME QUESTION BRITISH CRIME AUTHOR interview SPECIAL WITH CASEY KELLEHER

  1. Reblogged this on Casey Kelleher and commented:
    ‘There’s been a Murder’ Blog…

Leave a Reply

