Posted on

September 2014 up and coming crime author of the month with Steve Christie

image

1. How did you get started writing?
Many years ago, when the kids were small, I wrote stories that I would then read to them at bedtime. Jump forward a few years, the kids have grown up, bedtime stories now abandoned, I found myself with a little spare time so, I decided to swap writing bedtime stories for writing crime stories for adults.

2. What drew you to write a crime novel.
I’ve always been interested in crime, especially true crime. It was the obvious way to go!

3. Which writers past or present have influenced your style of writing?
Edgar Alan Poe: I love his dark descriptive style of writing. He can paint a real feeling of foreboding using words alone. Jeffrey Deaver: no one writes a twist in the tale like him. You think you have the mystery solved in your head then it usually takes off in a totally different direction. You just didn’t see it coming!

4. When you first started writing did you find it hard to get publisher interest?
It took a while. I think this is a problem experienced my most new writers. The major publishers just don’t seem interested so you have to contact as many publishers as possible. They get a lot of submissions and you have to be patient. I finally got interest from a couple of places.

5. There are many interesting characters in your Novels, do you have a particular favourite one?
It would probably be D.I Buchanan. He has a strange outlook on life, cuts a few corners yet always seems to get the job done.

6. What kind of research have you had to undertake for your novels?
I use the internet a lot but sometimes you do need to talk to experts, they’re usually quite accommodating if you just approach them nicely. My second book. Cold Shot contains a plot that deals with adoption. Its a mine field. Luckily, through Facebook I contacted an expert on this. I had a good many conversations with her through the course of writing the novel.

7. Are the characters in your books based on any real life?
A little bit here and there. I often find my characters develop into an amalgamation of people I know, or have known in the past. I also find a few of my own traits in there especially when it comes to Buchanan.

8. What do you think makes your novels stand out from all the other Scottish Crime Fiction Novels out there?
The pace of the plot. There’s always something going on. I also think Buchanan is quite unique. A good many detectives in crime fiction novels seem very similar at times.

9. Do you see any of your characters personality in yourself and vice versa?
Yes. I would think all authors put a bit of themselves into their characters. It’s very hard not to.

10. If you can, would you give us a sneaky peak into any future novels you have planned.
Sure! Here’s the prologue to Cold Shot. Eight am Monday morning. Mary approached the snow encrusted car that had just stopped in front of her at the side of the road. “Excuse me Miss, any idea where Westburn Road is.” Mary leaned over passenger window and pointed to the location on the drivers map. His face was hidden way back in his hood she couldn’t tell if he was young or old. “If you go straight on and take the second road on the left then…” Before she could finish her sentence she was pulled violently into the car her muffled screams quickly stifled by the closing of the car door. She felt a sharp pain on the inside of her left wrist. Then, through her rapidly blurring vision she watched as the syringe that had appeared from nowhere fell to the floor as if in slow motion. The fast acting sedative took over Mary’s body as the hooded strangers vehicle took off at great speed along the quiet suburban road.

11. Out of all the Novels you have written do you have a favourite one that stands out to you?
Hard to say…obviously I have a soft spot for Good Deed, It was my first novel and I’m quite proud of the fact that it lead to me becoming a published author, but I have to say I’m quite fond of Cold Shot, it’s a good deal longer and introduces some good new characters so….I’d probably go for that.

12. As a up and coming crime writer do you have words of advice you can share
Yes….Grow a thick skin. Not everyone’s going to like your books.

image

Good Deed by Steve Christie is a fast paced crime novel that introduces a new Scottish detective hero, DI Ronnie Buchanan. Events take Buchanan from his base in Aberdeen on a frantic journey around all the major Scottish cities as his increasingly deadly pursuit of a mysterious criminal master mind known only as Vince comes to a breath-taking climax back in Aberdeen.
“The pace of Good Deed is exceptional and unremitting. It is the kind of book that demands to be read in one sitting, but most readers will be so breathless as the saga unfolds without pause that they will need occasional rests before eagerly returning for more.”

http://about.me/stevechristieauthor

Amazon Author Page

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Steve-Christie/e/B00926A0EY/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

One response to “September 2014 up and coming crime author of the month with Steve Christie

  1. Interesting interview Steve, it was good to learn more about you & I loved Good Deed.

Leave a Reply

