Posted on

September 2014 up and coming crime author of the month with Paul Vincent Lee

IMG_0285.JPG

How did you get started writing?
Writing compositions at school; they’re called essays now I believe! It was the few thing at school I was best at….apart from dodging, I was really good at that.

What drew you to write a crime novel
It was always going to be crime, to be honest. I always liked reading crime, so I suppose it was an obvious step. I’d also like to give comedy writing a go.

Which writers past or present have influenced your style of writing?
I’ve been asked this question a few times, and I suppose, subconsciously, some writers must have; but I am not aware of any influencing me as such. Writers like Michael Connelly of Bosch fame, James Ellroy and a few others, are great American crime writers that I like to read. From UK, William McIlvanney’s Laidlaw got me hooked; and people like Ian Rankin & Denise Mina have moved things along…and recently, of course, Denzil Meryick has burst onto the scene.

When you first started writing did you find it hard to get publisher interest?
Not hard…..impossible! All the advice on this says “Be patient”…..I don’t agree. We live in a new age, if you can’t get a deal….Indy Publish…..and even if you do get offered a deal [ like I did ] check first, you might well be signing your life away and could make more money the Indy way. Get advice: contact Sinclair MacLeod at indieauthorsscotland.co.uk are a great starting point.

There are many interesting characters in your Novels, do you have a particular favourite one?
No….I like them all…..but story development is a strange beast….I had a character I really liked…..but killed him off anyway……it was a “shock” I felt the story needed.

What kind of research have you have to undertake for your Novels?
In between writing Defending Joe and The Maltese Orphans, I moved to Malta. there were some non-writing reasons for this, but at the same time I felt I wanted a different setting for my stories. The UK market is saturated with DI this and DC that…..and they all seem to have drink problems!

Are the characters in your books based on any real life?
For Defending Joe, I just looked back on my own life….let’s just leave it at that. Writers Warning: I’ve now lost 2 “friends” who didn’t appreciate aspects of my stories that they felt were describing them in real life…..sad but true. Do I care….no, they are the ones with the issues….not me.

What do you think makes your novels stand out from all the other Scottish Crime Fiction Novels out there
because they’ll all be set in Malta / Gozo from now on !!

Do you see any of your characters personality in yourself and vice versa?
Very much so…..especially the nut-jobs.

If you can, would you give us a sneaky peak into any future novels you have planned.
Well, The Maltese Orphans only came out on 1st Sept…..but I can say that the whole series will be called The Maltese….{ something }….stay tuned.

Out of all the Novels you have written do you have a favourite one that stands out to you?
Without a doubt, Defending Joe. It was a labour of love as it was a way of me expressing some of my own issues, and dealing with the challenge of just getting a book written. I was completely broke at the time, and my life was at an all time low, which didn’t help. I couldn’t afford to get anything done professionally; so I did the cover design myself { quite well I thought ! } and just formatted and edited as best I could. I wont lie, the rawness of the first edition showed, and was commented on by a couple of Reviewers, and at one point I was a bit embarrassed by some of the mistakes…..but then I just said: No, you’re not going to discourage me; I’m on a journey you know F all about.”…..and, despite it’s flaws, I “built a tribe”, the book sold in the thousands and put me on the map. It was also during this period that I found out who my real friends were.

As a well known crime writer do you have words of advice you can share
Yes…..write the way, and about, what YOU want…..don’t try & write to please an audience you think exists…..develop your own style…..and if you go down the Indy route don’t be afraid or ashamed to say it……I’m sure John Locke isn’t.

IMG_0286.JPG

Malta 2014, and Pulizija Inspector, the beautiful but troubled, Thea Spiteri, is at a cross roads in her life, and career. Then a child’s abduction, from a crowded St Julian’s beach, gives her the opportunity to concentrate her mind on what she does best: solve crimes.

Ex Scottish cop, ex drunk, ex lover, ex…….everything. At one time, Matt Healy felt he had it all. He found out differently. Now he is trying to put his life back together, on the idyllic island of Malta.

If they can both overcome their demons, and trust in the enigmatic Fr Marandon, emotional happiness awaits them both. But past sins in Scotland and Malta, mean that for both Healy and Spiteri, future happiness may just be an illusion.

OTHER NOVELS
Defending Joe

http://paulvincentlee.com/

Amazon Author Page

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Paul-Lee/e/B00ID7XPMC/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

One response to “September 2014 up and coming crime author of the month with Paul Vincent Lee

  1. Paul Lee

    The last question…..write is spelt wrongly twice !!….can it be changed?

Leave a Reply

