Posted on

December 2014 up and coming crime author of the month with Scott Campbell

IMG_0017.JPG

1. How did you get started writing?
I always used to write when I was younger, little stories and teenage novels. It wasn’t until I was in my twenties that I started to try to seriously finish a novel and my first book “Violet’s Story” was eventually completed after I had hit my thirties. The next years were spent mainly doing short stories here and there, until one story resonated more than others and I wrote a follow-up, and a third follow-on until I realised I had another novel. That was my second novel “The Knowing.”

2. What drew you to write a crime novel?
I never set out to specifically write a crime novel. It just so happened that what happened to my main character in “The Knowing” involved some murders and with her partner being a police officer, it could be written no other way.

3. Which writers past or present have influenced your style of writing?
I love Jeanette Winterson and I love Stephen King. I would like to think I am a blend of both their styles, creating my own style.

4. When you first started writing did you find it hard to get publisher interest?
Oh yes, I am well accustomed to the rejection letter. I think self-publishing is definitely the way forward.

5. There are many interesting characters in your Novels, do you have a particular favourite one?
The current book I am writing has a wonderful character called Vivian Westwood (no relation to the designer). I have completely fallen in love with her and it’s going to be sad in a way when I finish the book in a few weeks because Viv has now become a huge part of my life every day.

6. What kind of research have you had to undertake for your Novels?
In the book I am writing, my character Viv gets cervical cancer. I had this in real life so I have drawn from this experience to help me write it.

7. Are the characters in your books based on any real life?
Some have essences of people I have known, or fragments of events that have taken place, but I use artistic licence quite a bit.

8. What do you think makes your novels stand out from all the other Scottish Crime Fiction Novels out there?
I would call mine a supernatural crime thriller with a bit of lesbian romance thrown in. It’s different because it’s mine and I am unique.

9. Do you see any of your characters’ personality in yourself and vice versa?
I twist things a lot when I write, I like to keep people guessing.

10. If you can, would you give us a sneaky peak into any future novels you have planned?
I am working on “The Diary of a Fat Cow”, about the life and loves of over-weight Tesco night-shift worker, Viv. Then I shall be writing the rest of the follow-up to “The Knowing”, which is called “A Love Like Ishinnie.”

11. Out of the Novels you have written do you have a favourite one that stands out to you?
No, they all have a place in my heart. I hope I get better with each book though, as my writing improves.

12. As a up and coming crime writer do you have words of advice you can share?
I wouldn’t categorise myself as a crime writer, but I would say to anyone plan your story, work out a programme you can stick to and just go for it. Writing can be the easy bit, it’s all the work after that’s tough.

IMG_0018.JPG

The Knowing is a gritty, supernatural crime novel set in Glasgow. The narrator is a psychology lecturer named Jen Keith, who has dreams and visions about deaths which are yet to happen.
Jen’s goal is to assist the police in cases they are struggling to solve. She forever finds herself embroiled in trouble, putting herself into danger to help innocents. But who will believe her? Will her police officer girlfriend, Kate Coutts, or does she have another agenda?

OTHERS NOVELS

Violet’s Story

SHORT STORIES

Little Whispers

Karen Campbell was awarded the Ultimate Planet (New) Author of the Year 2014

https://www.facebook.com/Ringe70

https://twitter.com/RingeAlba

Amazon Author Page

Leave a comment